Join   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
News & Press: JPMA News

Connecticut Expands Rear-Facing and Booster Car Seat Requirements

Friday, July 21, 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Lauren Schoener-Gaynor
Share |

To ensure passage prior to adjournment, the Connecticut State Legislature added its child restraint bill to a general transportation bill. The bill was then passed and signed by the Governor on July 11, 2017.


Child passengers in Connecticut must face the rear of the vehicle, in a restraint equipped with a 5-point harness, until they are at least 2 years old or weigh 30 pounds. The previous law required facing the rear until age 1 and 20 pounds. Children ages 2-5 and weighing 30-40 pounds will be allowed to face either the rear or the front in a child restraint with a 5-point harness.


In addition, children ages 5-8 who weigh 40-60 pounds must now ride in rear-facing or forward-facing child restraints with 5-point harnesses, OR belt positioning booster seats. The previous law only covered to age 7. Children who are at least 8-years-old AND weigh at least 60 pounds may ride in a child restraint with a 5-point harness, a booster seat or a vehicle seat belt.


The new child restraint law will become effective October 1, 2017. 



Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal